

## TEVIOT AND LIDDESDALE AREA FORUM TUESDAY 16 OCTOBER 2012

The FIRST MEETING of the TEVIOT AND LIDDESDALE AREA FORUM will be held in the TOWER MILL, HEART OF HAWICK on TUESDAY 16 OCTOBER 2012 at 6.30pm.

J. J. WILKINSON Clerk to the Council 9 October 2012

## **BUSINESS**

- 1. Appointment of Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Teviot and Liddesdale Area Forum
- 2. Welcome and Introductions.
- 3. **Apologies for Absence.**
- 4. Order of Business.
- 5. **Declarations of Interest.**
- 6. **Timber Transport.** Mr James England (South of Scotland Timber Transport 30 mins Officer) will be in attendance to give a presentation and answer questions.
- 7. **Minute.** Minute of Meeting of to be approved and signed by the Chairman. 2 mins (Copy attached.)
- 8. **The Remit of the Area Forum.** (Extract from Scheme of Administration 5 mins attached.)
- 9. **Community Planning and Area Forums.** Receive presentation from 30 mins Douglas Scott from the Community Planning Team on:-
  - Revised community planning arrangements in the Scottish Borders
  - Function of Area Forums within community planning
  - Area profile of Teviot and Liddesdale Area
  - Discussion on key issues from the community perspective and possible future programme for the Forum
- 10. **Open Questions.** 10 mins

- 11. **Community Council Spotlight.** Consider matters of interest to Community 10 mins Councils.
- 12. Any Other Items Previously Circulated.
- 13. Any Other Items which the Chairman Decides are Urgent.
- 14. **Date of Next Meeting (Teviot and Liddesdale Area Forum).** Tuesday, 20 November 2012 in the Lesser Hall, High Street, Hawick.

## **NOTES**

- 1. Timings given above are only indicative and not intended to inhibit Members' discussions.
- 2. Members are reminded that, if they have a pecuniary or non-pecuniary interest in any item of business coming before the meeting, that interest should be declared prior to commencement of discussion on that item. Such declaration will be recorded in the Minute of the meeting.

## Membership of Forum:-

Scottish Borders Council Members:- Councillors A. Cranston, Z. Elliot, S. Marshall, D. Paterson, R. Smith, G. Turnbull.

Community Council Members:-

Burnfoot - Mr R. Knight (Substitute – Mr J Batten)

Denholm & District -

Hawick – Mrs M. Short (Substitute – Mr R Brydon)

Hobkirk - Mr C. Griffiths

Newcastleton & District – Mr T. Murphy (Substitute – Mr S Brown)

Southdean – Mr M. Harrison

Upper Teviotdale & Borthwick Water – Mr I. Robson

Please direct any enquiries to Fiona Walling Tel. 01835 826504

E-mail: fwalling@scotborders.gov.uk